top of page

Blog #12. Hatherwood - Red Rye Captain Pale Ale. Wish this Captain would go down with the ship.

Updated: Sep 5, 2020

Got a few beers down yesterday, couple of old faithfuls and a couple new ones. All enjoyed in the sun with a cheeky BBQ, first one of the year. Enough to make you forget about this lockdown business!


Last week, Ben recommended checking out Lidl's for the next beer run, as he'd had a couple and had good things to say. I got my hands on a random selection and had high hopes. Oh, high naive I was!


Red Rye Captain Pale Ale - 4.2%

Red Rye Captain Pale Ale, from Hatherwood Craft Beer Company - which is essentially a jazzy made up company created to promote Lidl's own brand of beer (I think).


This beer disappointed from start to finish! I have heard good things about their other beers, so won't write them off just yet. But I can't say I'd recommend Red Rye Captain. It claims to have an orange aroma with notes of caramel and toffee - in my opinion these don't come through at all. It reminds me of a really bad, cheap, eastern European beer you'd drink on a stag do. I think it might not even be a pale ale, I think Lidl's are lying to us!



They've even gone to effort to suggest a food pairing, BBQ pulled pork...... as if all beer doesn't go with pulled pork for crying out loud!


Avoid this beer at all costs! 2 out of 10. Only reason it's not a 1 is because it was sunny and I had a belly full of BBQ.


Cheers,

-Dan 🍺

36 views0 comments
bottom of page